We flew our drone over Downpatrick town and captured a couple of aerial 360° photographs. Look out for the marker points in the aerial virtual tours, some of which will allow you to jump from the sky down into some of the various visitor attractions found in the town.
On stunning beautiful Strangford Lough, amidst rolling countryside, Delamont offers you the chance to ‘get away from it all’ in tranquil, rural surroundings. The park’s relaxing atmosphere makes it a place to dream and settle into the slow rhythm of the countryside.
The museum is located in the historic buildings of the 18th-century County Gaol of Down. The old Gaol of Downpatrick was was opened in 1796 and until its closure in 1830 housed many thousands of prisoners.
The prison complex covers one acre and contains three main structures. These comprise a cell block to the rear, a central Governor’s Residence and two gatehouses flanking the main entrance, all set within a high perimeter wall.
Narrow Water Castle is a famous 16th-century tower house and bawn near Warrenpoint in Northern Ireland. There has been a keep on this site since 1212. It was a strategic spot and was originally built by Hugh de Lacy (first Earl of Ulster) as part of the area’s Norman fortifications to prevent attacks on Newry via the river.
The Copeland Islands is a group of three islands in the North Irish Sea, situated 3.6km off the coast from Donaghadee in County Down, Northern Ireland. Lighthouse Island is now owned by the National Trust and operated by volunteer members of the Copeland Bird Observatory. The ruins of the original keepers’ house have been rebuilt to house a bird observatory.
The Light Ship Petrel was built in 1915 by the Dublin Dockyard Co for the Commissioners of Irish Lights and is the only lightship still afloat in Ireland. A crucial element of lightship design is the mounting of a light on a sufficiently tall mast.
A stunning laser projection artwork, Global Rainbow, was beamed from Scrabo Tower in Newtownards towards Donaghadee.
This historical visitor attraction was built in the late 18th or early 19th century and worked until the First World War after which it gradually fell into disrepair. Now restored to full working order the plastered and white-washed tapering tower is a landmark in the area.
This beautiful country house set in lush grounds originally belonged to the Innis family, but for many years now has served as the centre of operations for the Society of Missions to Africa.
Holywood’s rich ecclesiastical heritage is represented today by its most distinctive building, the Old Priory.