Places to See | Co. Down, Northern Ireland.
Portaferry Presbyterian Church was built in 1841, in the Greek revival style, possibly using the Temple of Nemesis on the Greek Island of Rhamnous as a model. This Greek Doric temple, designed by the Belfast architect John Millar, is tucked away behind High Street and the buildings fronting The Square. In spite of its architectural importance and dominance of the area in which it stands, it is not particularly well known outside the locality.
Whilst it is still used for regular Sunday worship a charity, “The Friends of Portaferry Presbyterian Church” was established in 2007 with the intention of making use of the building for heritage and arts events, such as concerts and lectures. The friends felt that with its wonderfully live acoustic, seating for nearly 500, Edwardian Evans and Barr organ and superb architecture it could, and should, be used and shared much more widely.
This charity has led a major fundraising campaign for the total refurbishment of the building and has now secured over £1.3m. It is hoped that work will start in 2014. A Computer generated animation of the restored building is shown below.
Address: Portaferry Presbyterian Church, Meetinghouse Street, Portaferry, Co. Down BT22 1SY