Places to See | Co. Londonderry, Northern Ireland.
PLEASE NOTE: The Harbour Museum is now closed to the public. Arrangements for accessing archive and genealogy services will be available shortly. Telephone 028 71 377 331.
The Londonderry Port & Harbour Commissioners built this fine sandstone building in 1882 to the design of John Kennedy. Now owned by Derry City Council, it is the headquarters of the Heritage & Museum Service.
A wide range of paraphernalia pertaining to Derry as a Port is on display, ranging from a full-size reproduction of an ‘Iona Currach’ which Colmcille used to sail from Derry to the Scottish island when he founded his monastery to objects from the ‘Minnehaha’, one of the key emigration ships to operate out of Derry in the famine years.
Address: Harbour Square, Derry, Co. Londonderry BT48 6AF