Places to See | Co. Londonderry, Northern Ireland.
The Apprentice Boys of Derry Association is established for the purpose of commemorating the anniversaries of the shutting of the Gates and the Relief of Londonderry.
The Hall was opened in 1877, dedicated to the memory of the thirteen Apprentice Boys who closed the City gates in 1688. The Memorial Hall and museum is dedicated to the history and heritage of the Siege of Londonderry 1688-1689.
The building is neo-gothic, with a strong Scottish baronial façade. It contains fine examples of meeting rooms for each of the Loyal Orders (Orange Lodge and Royal Black Preceptory); while its museum contains local artefacts and video presentations relating to the Siege of Londonderry and the Apprentice Boys Association.
The Hall is an important architectural building within the walled city and guided tours of the museum and hall can be arranged throughout the year.
Address: Apprentice Boys Memorial Hall, 13 Society Street, Derry, Co. Londonderry BT48 6PJ